Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee consists of nine members appointed by the Town Moderator.  The Advisory Committee is a statutorily empowered board that is required to submit the municipal budget to Town Meeting.  Under Norfolk's General Bylaws, the Advisory Committee is responsible for presenting recommendations on all Town Meeting warrant articles and preparing the motions therefor. 

Committee members are concerned citizens with a strong interest in the workings of Town government.  the committee's members come from a variety of professional disciplines and each member has experience in the consideration of financial and other matters that may affect municipal governance. 

During February and March, the Advisory Committee receives the Select Board's budget and holds budget review sessions with various Town departments and boards. The Committee independently develops a budget for presentation to the Annual Town Meeting and informs the Select Board of any differences with their proposed budget. The Advisory Committee's recommendations on the budget and other warrant articles are mailed to all registered voters.  

Each year the Advisory Committee sets aside a sum of money in the Annual Budget which is known as the reserve.  The amount of the reserve varies from year to year but is normally $25,000-$100,000.  During the fiscal year, if a municipal department encounters and "extraordinary and unforeseen expense," it can appeal to the Advisory Committee for a transfer from the reserve.  Departments under the Select Board must first secure their approval on the request form before approaching the Advisory committee. .

Advisory Committee Members

David Lutes Chair 2025
Jonathan Hurwitz Vice Chair 2026
Vacant Member 2024
Ken Fitzgerald Clerk 2026
Rob Garrity Member 2026
Melissa Cyr Member 2024
Joyce Terrio Member 2025
Mike Gee Member 2025
Vacant Member 2024